top of page

A Prayer for Deliverance


It was early morning and the sunshine was coming in through the blinds of the guest room. Ruth had not been able to sleep during the night. Troubled thoughts invaded her sleep. She had reached a point in life where she no longer desired to live. There were only two ways out.

Ruth had never imagined that she would live an abusive marriage, let alone think of not living anymore. The very thought of no longer existing gave her a sense of relief. She looked at her beautiful daughter, Deborah, and she knew in her heart that her daughter would be fine without her. Phillip wouldn’t hurt their little Deborah.

The other way out would be for God to rescue her. She wasn’t so sure that God could somehow take her out from this horrible marriage. Would God listen to her? If she asked God to deliver her from this marriage, would God actually rescue her?

Ruth sat in the guest room and came to the conclusion that if God didn’t rescue her from this abusive marriage, she would end her life.

She started praying, “God, rescue me! God if you hear me, please get me out of here. God, I can’t do this anymore. I believe you can rescue me. If you, God, truly love me please show me what I need to do and deliver me! Deliver your daughter.”

All day, this prayer for deliverance never left Ruth’s mouth. “God, rescue me! God if you hear me, please get me out of here. God, I can’t do this anymore. I believe you can rescue me. If you, God, truly love me please show me what I need to do and deliver me! Deliver your daughter.”

(~ to be continued~)

Note from author:

Please join me during the weekend, for the continuation of this story, A Prayer for Deliverance.

If you haven't subscribed to my blog, you can subscribe at cesiahguerra.wixsite.com/website and you will get a free copy of my book, "Why Leaving Is Not Easy."

bottom of page