top of page

Domestic Violence and Suicide


A reader shared with me, that I was brave for writing some of the dark things many women face in silence; the things they can’t speak out due to fear or shame. I don’t see myself as brave but this is simply my calling in life.

Perhaps, my writing makes readers feel uncomfortable to what they read on my blog. But I write what is true and real. I write about domestic violence and the ugliness that comes with it. I also write on deliverance and speak out the beauty in each of my sisters through my poems.

Last week, in the story of Ruth, I shared her experience with feelings of hopelessness and the thoughts of not existing; which is really thoughts of suicide.

Ruth prayed and prayed for God to deliver her from her situation and just as she was resolving to accept her life of abuse, God came through and brought help to her life.

God is a God that brings deliverance and healing to our broken hearts and souls. He delights in us. He will rescue and bring us to a spacious place of safety, of healing, and peace in Him. ~Psalms 18.~

Many of my survivor sisters will share their stories, the violence they endured but not many will share the feelings that come with physical and emotional abuse.

Emotional abuse stays with the victim, it consumes her thoughts and feelings, it slowly but surely changes the identity of the victim, their thought process. To where the victim was once whole, emotional abuse breaks her to an extent that she will believe the lies the abuser whispers in her ear.

Domestic violence and feelings of hopelessness can bring thoughts of suicide. My sisters see a life where there is no hope and no way out in their present and future. Shame, fear, and guilt entraps my sisters to not seek help. Some feel that suicide and not existing is the solution to their nightmare.

FACTS:

  • 23% of my survivor sisters have attempted suicide.

  • 1 out 4 will commit suicide.

Though my sisters don’t see hope, I am here to write and say that there is hope. Together we can break the silence of hopelessness, abuse, and suicide.

I urge you, my sisters, victims of domestic violence, to seek help. Speak out… you are valuable. You are worth very much.

(continuing article: Domestic Violence and Suicide- The Signs)

24- Hour National Domestic Violence Hotline

1-800-799-SAFE

Subscribe and get a free copy "Why Leaving Is Not Easy."

bottom of page