top of page

Menachem


She (the host) stood with her long burgundy flower dress. She wore simple heels that matched her dress.

She looked at the ballroom full of women, sitting in simple chairs. They sat facing the podium; their faces full of excitement. They spoke among themselves waiting for the conference to begin.

She admired the golden chandelier that hung in the middle of the large room. Tall plants sat in every corner. She didn’t have words to describe the feeling she’d get when she was in the ballroom. She loved to host conferences in this room.

Nervous the host felt; a few minutes alone was what she needed. She headed towards her office; seeking a moment to pray. She walked up the ballroom stairs; the staircase in all its elegance with dark mahogany wood and beautifully rich carpet with golden swirl designs.

As she opened her office door, she looked at the expanse of her office. Every piece in the room flowed together and spoke of elegance. The office was on the second floor and the view out the bay window was breathtaking. She had placed her desk in front of the bay window to be able to turn around at any time and see the beautiful views of the city and the river that ran along the building.

Sitting in the guest chair, she sat in the quietness of her office. How she enjoyed resting in the peacefulness of the evening.

As she sat with her eyes closed, her assistant broke the moment of prayer and quietness. “There is someone who would like to meet you,” she said. “Who,” the host asked. “A man outside your office is waiting to meet you,” she said. “No, I don’t wish to meet anyone,” the host replied.

The assistant full of excitement said, “You got to meet him! His name is Menachem.” As she pulled the host’s hand she stood up to meet him. But, as she turned around…

I woke up from my dream.

For days, this dream stuck with me. Did this dream have any meaning? Did God want to tell me something? Hello, why couldn’t I see his face, of all things!?

I remember driving one afternoon, when it hit me! What does Menachem mean? I didn’t want to forget his name. So, to Google I went.

Menachem, a Hebrew name meaning “comforter.” As I read the meaning of the name, it all made sense to me.

The comforter is Jesus.

Isn’t He the solution to all our problems? To the nagging void in our souls?

Yes, He is.

At times we spend endless resources and time searching for something that will fill our voids, our pain; only to find that we are still empty. We search for love in the wrong places and in the wrong people. We search for comfort in the vanity of life, yet our lives never change and we continue to be void.

See, this dream comes to my mind when I am feeling scared, alone, and stressed by the chaos of life; the burdens that make me scream out to God, “This one is too heavy for me, God. Please carry this one for me."

Jesus, the one who died for me is my comforter. He reminds me every day that He is the only one I need.

I see Him in the painting He sets in the sky every evening. I see Him in the smiles of my children. I see Him in my worship. I see Him in the simple and joyful moments of every day. I see Him in the strength He gives me when things get tough and I feel like I won’t make it. I see Him in the rainy days and in the refreshing smell of rain. I see Him in the beautiful ocean and in the crashing waves.

For Christ is my comforter, my Menachem. He is with me ALL the time.

Who is your comforter? Who is the one that makes you whole? Who is the one who lifts your burdens?

~ Cesiah ~

bottom of page