top of page

Distractions


Distractions pulled me left and right-

The noises they made-

Were booming like a stormy thunderous night.

They were covered in brightness-

Glittering fancies that appealed to my eyes.

I tried to push them away-

Tighter, I held onto His hand;

But the tinkling noises rang with all its might.

As the enticing sounds encircled me-

I let go of His hand!

For only a moment,

I’d dance with the sway of the world and its busy beats.

Distracted, I forgot of my calling-

My purpose in life.

See, I could no longer see Him,

The One who bled on the cross.

My life became thirsty and void –

Without His presence in my life.

I could no longer see Him,

The One who loved me so-

The One who gave His all-

The One who gave meaning to my soul.

Like lightning flashing through the sky-

I shut the distractions of this world;

I closed the door to the endless busyness,

And I ran searching for Him.

I fell to my knees,

In search of my beloved.

In the midst of my prayer,

I felt His presence,

His peace wash over me.

I had found my beloved,

And I’d never let go.

~ Cesiah ~

Rescuedforhiskingdom.org

bottom of page